Last Updated on November 6, 2023 by Kelvin Nielsen
A month-to-month lease runs from one calendar month to the next. It has no definite expiration date and automatically renews every month until either party terminates it by serving the other a proper notice.
The following are answers to commonly asked questions regarding month-to-month leases in Connecticut.
What Rights & Responsibilities Do Tenants Have in a Month-to-Month Lease in Connecticut?
The rights and responsibilities tenants enjoy in a month-to-month lease are no different from those of a tenant on a fixed-term lease.
#1: Live in a habitable dwelling.
A habitable dwelling is one that meets the basic health, safety, and building codes. Among other things, this means that the dwelling must have heating, hot water, sufficient garbage receptacles, and working smoke and carbon monoxide detectors.
#2: Live in privacy.
As a tenant in Connecticut, you have a right to live in peace and quiet. State law specifies that landlords must provide “reasonable” advance notice. The entry times must also occur at “reasonable” times.
#3: Exercise certain rights without retaliation.
Connecticut law (Connecticut General Statutes Title 47A) gives tenants certain special rights, especially regarding repairs. Including, the right to report the landlord to a local health government agency due to habitability issues.
The landlord must not retaliate against you in such cases. They must not do illegal things like raise rent, issue eviction threats, or shut off utilities.
#4: A fair eviction process.
To evict a tenant from their rented premises, even one without a lease agreement, a landlord must follow a proper process. Including, serving you a proper notice, filing a lawsuit in court, and obtaining a court order.
The following is a list of responsibilities tenants in a month-to-month lease have in Connecticut.
- Pay rent on time every month.
- Maintain the unit’s cleanliness standards.
- Use the property for its intended purposes.
- Abide by all terms of the lease agreement.
Can a Landlord Terminate a Month to Month-to-Month Lease In CT?
Either party in a month-to-month lease can terminate the agreement as long as they serve proper notice. Under Connecticut law, the notice to serve will depend on the frequency of rent payment.
To terminate a month-to-month lease, for instance, either party must serve the other a notice of at least 30 days. The notice must be in writing and must be delivered to the person either in person or by mail.
To terminate a fixed-term lease, however, you must wait out the lease. The only exception would be if the tenant violates a term of the lease agreement mid-way through the lease. In which case, you’d need to follow the proper removal process under state law.
How Long Can a Tenant Stay After the Lease Expires in Connecticut?
You can stay for as long as the landlord permits. After your lease expires, you automatically become a tenant ‘at will’. An ‘at will’ tenant is one who lives on a rental property without a lease and who can be evicted at any time.
However, this doesn’t mean that your landlord can evict you anyhow. For instance, by locking you out, throwing out your personal belongings, or shutting your utilities. Not at all!
To evict you from the property, the landlord must first serve you a proper notice. Specifically, the landlord must serve you a 30 days’ advance notice.
There you have it – Connecticut landlord-tenant law for tenants on a month to month lease. Understanding the law is key to minimizing potential issues between you and the landlord. If you have a specific question, kindly leave a comment for expert advice.
Disclosure: The content herein isn’t a substitute for advice from a professional attorney. It’s only meant to serve educational purposes. If you have a specific question, kindly seek expert attorney services.
Hi, I’m Kelvin Nielsen, an experienced landlord and accomplished real estate lawyer. My focus is on answering your questions about renting in the hopes of making your life as a renter or a landlord a bit easier.